Where is Mumbai India

Mumbai is located in the western part of Indian state of Maharashtra.  The cities geographical co-ordinates are 18°58’30?N 72°49’33? E. The distance of Mumbai is about 1,150 Km from Delhi, the capital of India.

Where is Mumbai Located in India Map

Facts about Mumbai

Name Mumbai (Bombay)
Country India
Continent Asia
Came in existence 1507
Previous name any Bom Baia (Bombay)
Area of Megacity 603.4 sq km (233 sq mi)
Area of Metro 4,355 sq km (1,681.5 sq mi)
Population (Megacity) 12,478,447 (2011)
Population Density 21,000/sq km (53,000/sq mi) [2011]
Lat Long 18°58’30?N 72°49’33?E
Name of Monuments The Gateway of india, Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus, Thomas Cathedral, Elephanta Caves, Town Hall, Flora Fountain, Mani Bhavan Museum, Kanheri caves
Places to Visit ISKCON Temple- Mumbai, Marine Drive, Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Vastu Sangrahalaya, Hanging Gardens, Adlabs Aquamagica, Shree Siddhivinayak Temple, Haji Ali Dargah
Time Zone IST (UTC+5:30)
STD Code +91-22
Zip Code Start 400 001 to 400 107
Languages Marathi, Konkani, Hindi, English
Mayor Vishwanath Mahadeshwar
Transportation Bus, Train, Taxi, Metro
Rivers Dahisar River, Mithi River, Oshiwara River, Poisar River and Ulhas River
Lake(s) Tulsi, Vihar and Powai
Mountains NA
Airport(s) Chhatrapati Shivaji Airport

Amazing Facts about Mumbai

  • Mumbai was called Bombay till 1995.
  • The city was renamed to Mumbai after goddess Mumba, the local incarnation of the Devi.
  • Two oldest but well-known names for this city are Kakamuchee and Galajunkja.
  • Portuguese writer Gaspar Correia used the name Bombaim for this city, so Bombay name came in existence.

Unknown Facts about Mumbai

  • City was known as Mombayn (1525), Bombay (1538), Bombain (1552), Bombaym (1552), Monbaym (1554), Mombaim (1563), Mombaym (1644), Bambaye (1666), Bombaiim (1666), Bombeye (1676), Boon Bay (1690), and Bon Bahia.
  • Ali Muhammad Khan, imperial diwan cum revenue minister of the Gujarat province, in his book Mirat-i-Ahmedi (1762) referred this city as Manbai.
  • The residents of Mumbai are called mumbaikar in the Marathi language.
  • Mumbai city is built on what was once an archipelago of seven seperate islands namely Bombay Island, Parel, Mazagaon, Mahim, Colaba, Worli, and Old Woman’s Island.